2013 election - candidate bios2013 GRBA Board of Trustees Election - Candidate Biographies

Vice President

Patrick F. Geary
Smith Haughey Rice & Roegge
Shareholder; President; General Counsel

B.A., University of Notre Dame, 1972
J.D., University of Michigan, 1975

Areas of Practice:
Commercial litigation, Insurance coverage, Products liability

Bar-Related Involvement:
GRBA: Member; Trustee (2011-2013); Community Interaction Committee, Co-Chair;  Law Day Committee, Co-Chair; Justice Foundation Fellow

State Bar of Michigan: Member; Member Law Practice Management Council; Special Commission on “Loser Pays” Legislations; Michigan Defense Trial Counsel (President, 2001)

ABA: Member, Product Liability Advisory Council; Member, Litigation Council of America.

Civic/Community Involvement:
Current:   Member of Corporate Board of Catholic Charities of West Michigan;  Member of Board of Directors D.A. Blodgett-St. John’s Home;  Member of Board, Notre Dame Club of Grand Rapids;  Parishioner – Immaculate Heart of Mary Parish.

Former:  Board of Catholic Social Services of Grand Rapids;  Board of Adoptive Families Support Network;  Member of Secretariat for Social Justice, Diocese of Grand Rapids;  Member of Board Catholic Central Boosters Club;  Youth Sports Coach, Immaculate Heart of Mary School;  Leadership Grand Rapids (2006)

Larry Murphy
Varnum LLP

B.G.S., University of Michigan, 1976
J.D., Wayne State University, 1979

Area(s) of Practice:
Labor and Employment Law
Bar-Related Involvement:

GRBA: Member; Member of Managing Partners Diversity Collaborative

State Bar of Michigan: Member; Member of Labor Section of State Bar;  Ex-Officio Member of Labor  & Employment Law Council of Labor Section; Member of Michigan State Bar Foundation

Other: Fellow of The College of Labor & Employment Lawyers
Civic/Community Involvement:

Secretary of Grand Rapids Community College Foundation Board; Member of The Right Place Board of Trustees; Member of Grand Rapids Symphony Board of Directors; Member of West Michigan Policy Forum-Steering Committee; Member of the Ehlers Transit Partnership - The Rapid; Member of Dégagé Ministries Board of Directors


Richard E. Hillary, II





Randall L. Velzen






Elizabeth K. Bransdorfer





Kevin J. O'Dowd




Trustee Postion 1

Daniel W. Borst





Brian K. Lawson




Trustee Postion 2

Marcus Ray Jones





Julie M. Westra




Trustee Postion 3

James R. Oppenhuizen






Courtney L. Quist